• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Finland
    Finland

Posted 22 October 2024 - 07:49 AM

Hello,

We are currently using metal detectors as our foreign substance control method and it is also a critical control point.

Before I joined, the company had no previous protocol for testing and validating the metal detector which I have aimed to correct by creating one.

We have run in to a problem where the detector can't detect non-ferrous metal or small pieces of stainless steel so the only test piece that it detects is the ferrous one. What's more there is a question about the suitability of metal detection as our control, because our product is packed in a laminate with aluminium in it.

I have little experience with the technologies used in metal detectors so can't give you a lot of details about the machine, but as I understand it there is only one coil in the machine which does the detecting.

My question then would be if there's a way to make the metal detector work with all of the required test pieces and if not, is there a way to justify the use of only the ferrous test piece in our food safety management documents? 

If these are not possible I suppose I'll have to think of a way to get the management to buy a better detection system.

Thank you for your time.

Kind Regards

Artturi Oksanen

Dorothy87

Grade - SIFSQN

• IFSQN Senior
  • 283 posts
  • 76 thanks
Excellent

• United Kingdom
    United Kingdom
  • Interests:Antiques, Art, Sailing

Posted 22 October 2024 - 08:24 AM

Hi Artturi ;) 

Did you challenge your metal detector with the smallest possible MD sticks? 

We are using metallised foil and called manufacturer to challenge the metal detector with ferrous 2.0mm, Non-ferrous 3.0mm and SS 5.5 mm plus Ferrous 20mm (customer requirement).