• Quick Navigation
Photo

Accidental Ingredient Addition: Food Fraud or Not?

Share this

Best Answer , 15 October 2024 - 10:49 PM

I hate to say it but I think you are correct and I think others in this forum may be misleading you slightly. While it is true that you did not intentionally add the Sodium Ascorbate, you did catch that it was added while it was still in your custody. Sodium Ascorbate is required to be labeled on both food and supplements in the EU, so the food is adulterated, and choosing not to inform the customer is an intentional act of misrepresentation, which by EU standards would constitute fraud.

• You cannot start a new topic
  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

kaiti.vog

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 5 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• Germany
    Germany

Posted 07 October 2024 - 03:47 PM

Dear all,

I am a Quality manager with almost 10 years experience in the food industry in quality related positions at a company that produces food supplements for  B2B customer (private label). The company is in Europe. Just for your information, food supplements are foodstuff according to european regulations and not a medicine.

I need your knowledge and your opinion about  a topic. Here is the issue:

A production employee accidentally added sodium ascorbate (0,6%) in a food supplement that normally does not contain any sodium ascorbate in the recipe. 

My reaction: We should inform the customer so that they can adjust their labels.

There was a discussion in the company between me, the CMO (who has experience in QM, worked as Quality Manager in the past and is my superior) and the CEO who has no QM experience. They both believe that this is not food fraud because there was no intention it was an accident, because there is no economical motivation behind it, and because in general sodium ascorbate is safe. So they didn´t want to inform the customer.