What's New Unreplied Topics Membership About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy
[Ad]

Newby -Introducing Myself

Started by , Oct 04 2024 10:43 PM
1 Reply

Hello everyone, my name is Jenny.

I am the Quality Manager for a hemp derived manufacturing facility here in the Pacific Northwest. I've worked in the food and beverage business for 21 years, various types of business management for 13 years, and have also been an educator for 8 years. I have been working in the hemp manufacturing industry now, since 2018. It consistently stays challenging and it is also very rewarding. I absolutely love it. I have learned so much, and I'm a true believer in life long learning.

Industrialized hemp doesn't fit into one particular box. We have to follow several standards for pharmaceutical drugs, but it is not technically a pharmaceutical. The FDA has approved1 prescription cannabis drug and 2 cannabis prescription drug products that can only be prescribed by a licensed healthcare provider, but this doesn't mean that all things made with cannabis are now a pharmaceutical drug.

We also follow standards for dietary supplement(s) (nutraceutical or ingredient), but it cannot be marketed or regulated as such.  Derivatives of industrialized hemp are already FDA approved as a prescription drug and it cant be classified as both a drug and a dietary supplement.

We follow food safety standards, yet it isn't food, although it can be, and often is consumed. I can't forget about animal food and animal drug standards? It is often used in both. My dogs, Scooby and Bee both love CBD bacon or chicken flavored tinctures. Scooby, my older arthritic and epileptic dog, well he has to have it. It helps him tremendously, for his joints and mobility. His seizures still happen, but not nearly as often. Then there's the cosmetic standards. Now, it isn't a cosmetic, but it is a main ingredient in several of them. 

I look forward to getting to know the community here, and learning from each other.