Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 9 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 05 September 2024 - 08:34 PM

I am very new to writing corrective action reports and I keep running into problems with what to put down for preventive actions and verification procedures on events that seem randomized.

My current CAR involves rejecting a single case of raw frozen material that included obviously rancid material out of a shipment of 50+ cases of mechanically separated meat byproduct. They were received completely frozen and all other cases from that lot and shipment looked and smelled "normal". I submitted a SCAR report to the supplier. What else can I do? Management is not giving any helpful guidance.

How do I "prevent" one off issues like this? How do I verify that the prevention works? I am at a loss.

G M

Grade - PIFSQN

• IFSQN Principal
  • 665 posts
  • 132 thanks
Excellent

• United States
    United States

Posted 05 September 2024 - 08:42 PM

How was the unacceptable material detected? 

If your receiving or other procedures caught the problem before it was used, I'm not sure its a situation needing a formal corrective action.

kconf

Grade - MIFSQN

• IFSQN Member
  • 189 posts
  • 22 thanks
Excellent

• Earth
    Earth

Posted 05 September 2024 - 08:44 PM

That's an interesting scenario. Let's break it down.

You obviously cannot prevent a vendor from sending to you an off product. Let your supplier complete their investigation (SCAR). Your preventing action plan should be based on their (or maybe partially yours) root cause. 

Your ultimate goal is to only use materials that are in compliance with food safety and quality. How will you ensure that you will maintain it? 

GoldFishPanic

Grade - Active

• IFSQN Active
  • 9 posts
  • 0 thanks
Neutral

• United States
    United States

Posted 05 September 2024 - 09:01 PM

How was the unacceptable material detected?