What's New Unreplied Topics Membership About Us Contact Us Privacy Policy
[Ad]

Help with strategy to reduce set up time for factory lines

Started by , Jun 28 2006 03:06 PM
5 Replies
Hey all,
sorry I'm not allowed to start a new topic in this forum so I'm hoping this is the right area for my query. Basically, I am a mechanical engineering student and I am doing a summer placement working in the supply chain section for a company, on a project which means I'm to devlop and implement a strategy to reduce the set up time for the factory lines. I am feeling slightly bedazzled and confused by this - I've read through all the messages on this board and found some very useful things so now feel I understand the concepts behind things such as the 5S's and SMED, but wondered how I go about actually obtaining data from the factory floor and wondered how any one else would go about this project? I'm only working here for 10 weeks so obviously time is of the essence if I'm going to try and make any impact. I've already arranged a factory visit for next week, but I don't think the company realise how important this is to my project, and I don't think they'd allow me to go and film or time the line?!
As you can tell I'm probably in over my head on this one, and any help whatsoever would be much appreciated.
Thank you,
Charlotte
Share this Topic
Topics you might be interested in
Strategy- QA Is it possible to reduce the frequency of swabbing without compromising food safety? Extending the production time Liquid Co2 measuremnt in CSD factory Do you spend enough time on food safety and quality improvement?
[Ad]

Hey all,
sorry I'm not allowed to start a new topic in this forum so I'm hoping this is the right area for my query.

Yes sorry about that I've fixed it now.